Карьера Connect Северо-Восток

Career Connect Northeast поддерживается Greater Spokane Incorporated в партнерстве с Северо-восточным округом службы образования Вашингтона 101 (NEWESD 101).

Карьера Connect Северо-Восток

Career Connect Northeast поддерживается Greater Spokane Incorporated в партнерстве с Северо-восточным округом службы образования Вашингтона 101 (NEWESD 101).
Магистральная организация:
Большой Спокан в партнерстве с НОВЫЙ ПАЗ 101
Кэссиди Петерсон
Директор Career Connect Northeast Network

Обзор

Career Connect Northeast расширяет возможности образования в области STEM для всей молодежи в регионе, чтобы увеличить количество студентов, которые стремятся и добиваются успеха в карьере в области STEM. Наша цель — сократить разрыв в навыках STEM и способствовать росту экономики Вашингтона.

STEM в цифрах

Ежегодные отчеты Washington STEM STEM by the Numbers сообщают нам, поддерживает ли система большее количество учащихся, особенно цветных, студентов, живущих в бедности и/или сельской местности, и молодых женщин, чтобы они могли получить требуемые сертификаты.

Посмотреть отчет Восточного региона STEM by the Numbers здесь.
Для цитирования и ссылок на этот отчет нажмите здесь.

Программы + Воздействие

РАННЕЕ ОБУЧЕНИЕ ДОМА

Career Connect Northeast и коалиция партнеров по сообществу распространили 1,000 наборов бесплатных карточек для разговоров, посвященных ранней математике, посредством расширения Повседневный язык и возможности обучения (проект ELLO). Проект ELLO направлен на увеличение количества качественных взаимодействий между опекунами и маленькими детьми. Благодаря интеграции содержательных разговоров, домашних дел и общественных пространств, к которым регулярно обращаются семьи, ресурсы ELLO побуждают опекунов разговаривать со своими детьми таким образом, который тематически адаптирован к знакомым распорядкам и обстановке. ELLO работает в партнерстве с предприятиями, общественными организациями и другими партнерами в области образования, чтобы предоставить семьям и детям в районе Спокан основные ресурсы, необходимые для процветания.

КАРЬЕРА CONNECT WASHINGTON ВИРТУАЛЬНОЕ ОБУЧЕНИЕ

В ответ на пандемию мы, как региональная сеть CCW Северо-Восточного Вашингтона (NEWESD) 101, совместно подали заявку на один из сельских грантов Career Connect Washington в размере 50,000 171 долларов США для создания осенней серии виртуальных выставок карьеры в партнерстве с региональной сетью CCW North Central ESD 1,000. Сеть, Apple STEM. Студенты из обоих ESD были приглашены участвовать в одной выставке в неделю в течение шести недель, каждую неделю уделяя особое внимание различным направлениям CTE. В течение шести недель зарегистрировалось более 394 студентов и 2021 докладчика (партнеры из отрасли и колледжа). Мы планируем использовать вторую часть этих средств весной XNUMX года для студентов CTE.

БИЗНЕС ПОСЛЕ ШКОЛ© И ОБУЧЕНИЕ УЧИТЕЛЕЙ В ОНЛАЙН

Программы GSI Business AfterSchool и Teaching the Teachers стали виртуальными, и с октября 110 года в них приняли участие более 2020 учащихся и преподавателей. о нашем нынешнем кризисе со здоровьем. Кроме того, преподаватели получили доступ к платформе для изучения способностей и карьеры, чтобы расширить знания учащихся о возможностях и направлениях.

ПОСЛЕВТОРИЧНЫЕ ПУТИ

Беговой старт для карьеры: Общественный колледж Спокан (SCC) Беговой старт для карьеры программа предлагает местным старшеклассникам возможность пройти профессиональную подготовку на уровне колледжа, еще учась в старшей школе. По состоянию на середину декабря около 70 студентов обучаются по 22 программам в SCC и по 11 программам в муниципальном колледже Спокан-Фоллс. Роль Career Connect Northeast заключается в том, чтобы повысить важность таких программ, чтобы обеспечить учащимся доступ к равноправным программам, которые дают толчок их путешествию после окончания средней школы еще в старшей школе.

ПОВЫШЕНИЕ ЗАВЕРШЕНИЯ FAFSA И WASFA

Career Connect Northeast воспользовалась оговоркой WA STEM FAFSA/WASFA для поддержки 6 бесплатных виртуальных мероприятий по завершению обучения в нашем регионе, организованных College Success Foundation (CSF) в конце 2020 года, в которых приняли участие 112 учащихся/семьи из 52 школ в рамках NEWESD 101. К сожалению, пандемия отрицательно сказалось на показателях завершенных проектов в нашем регионе, но подобные события имеют решающее значение для сохранения ресурсов и поддержки.

Земля-космос: это сеть STEM West Sound
12 декабря 1,000 студентов из сети West Sound STEM Network поговорили с астронавтами НАСА, живущими, работающими и проводящими исследования на борту Международной космической станции.
Inslee выделяет 6 миллионов долларов на создание ученичества и карьерных связей для 29,000 11 молодых людей в XNUMX сообществах.
Опыт обучения STEM, теневые вакансии, планирование карьеры, стажировки и ученичество становятся доступными благодаря новому грантовому финансированию Career Connect Washington.
Kaiser Permanente: поддержка STEM, обучение наших будущих медицинских кадров
Сьюзан Маллани, президент Kaiser Permanente Washington, говорит о важности равенства в образовании STEM и его положительном влиянии на развитие кадров здравоохранения на Вашингтонском саммите STEM 2017 года в Microsoft.
STEM Как я! знакомит студентов с настоящим STEM
Вдохновение студентов на карьеру инженера начинается в классе. STEM Как я! позволяет учителям знакомить специалистов STEM с классом, чтобы обучать учащихся тому, какие карьеры им доступны.
Вы можете помочь учащимся из Вашингтона получить отличное образование в области STEM.
Поддержка STEM

Spokane STEM Network

The Spokane STEM Network is supported by Greater Spokane Incorporated in partnership with the NorthEast Washington Education Service District 101 (NEWESD 101).

Spokane STEM Network

The Spokane STEM Network is supported by Greater Spokane Incorporated in partnership with the NorthEast Washington Education Service District 101 (NEWESD 101).
Backbone Organization:
Greater Spokane in partnership with NEW ESD 101
Cassidy Peterson
Spokane STEM Network Director

Overview

The Spokane STEM Network enhances STEM education opportunities for all youth in the region to increase the number of students who pursue and achieve success in STEM careers. Our goal is to reduce the STEM skills gap and grow Washington’s economy.

STEM by the Numbers

Washington STEM’s annual STEM by the Numbers reports let us know if the system is supporting more students, especially students of color, students living in poverty and/or rural backgrounds, and young women, to be on track to attain high-demand credentials.

View the Eastern regional STEM by the Numbers report here.
For citations and references on this report, click here.

Programs + Impact

EARLY LEARNING AT HOME

The Spokane STEM Network and a coalition of community partners distributed 1,000 sets of free conversation cards focused on early mathematics through the expansion of Everyday Language and Learning Opportunities (Project ELLO). Project ELLO is focused on increasing the number of quality interactions between caregivers and young children. Through the integration of meaningful conversations, home routines, and community spaces that are regularly accessed by families, ELLO resources encourage caregivers to talk with their children in ways that are thematically tailored to familiar routines and settings. ELLO works in partnerships with businesses, community-based organizations, and other educational partners to provide the essential resources Spokane area families and children need to thrive.

CAREER CONNECT WASHINGTON VIRTUAL LEARNING

In response to the pandemic, we, as North East Washington ESD (NEWESD) 101’s CCW Regional Network, co-applied for one of Career Connect Washington’s $50,000 rural grants to create the fall Virtual Career Expo Series in partnership with North Central ESD 171’s CCW Regional Network, Apple STEM. Students from both ESDs were invited to participate in one expo per week for six weeks, each week focusing on a different CTE pathway. Over the course of six weeks, over 1,000 students and 394 presenters (industry and college partners) registered. We plan to use the second part of these funds in a spring 2021 opportunity for CTE students.

BUSINESS AFTERSCHOOL© & TEACHING THE TEACHERS GO ONLINE

GSI’s Business AfterSchool and Teaching the Teachers programs turned virtual and have engaged more than 110 students and educators since October 2020. In addition, Spokane STEM has provided virtual training, materials kits and industry connections for 40 middle school teachers in 16 NEWESD 101 districts focusing on our current health crisis. In addition, educators received access to an aptitude and career exploration platform to broaden student knowledge of opportunities and pathways.

POST-SECONDARY PATHWAYS

Washington State Opportunity Scholarship (WSOS): The WSOS provided a total of $787,500 in 2020 to 35 students in our region to study STEM or health care in a four-year program.

Running Start for Careers: Spokane Community College’s (SCC) Running Start for Careers program offers local high school students a chance to complete their college-level vocational training while still in high school. As of mid-December, approximately 70 students are enrolled in 22 programs at SCC and 11 programs at Spokane Falls Community College. Spokane STEM’s role is to elevate the importance of programs such as this to ensure students have access to equitable programs that kickstart their postsecondary journey while still in high school.

INCREASING FAFSA AND WASFA COMPLETION

Spokane STEM utilized WA STEM’s FAFSA/WASFA proviso to support 6 free virtual completion events in our region hosted by College Success Foundation (CSF) at the end of 2020 which engaged 112 students/families across 52 schools in NEWESD 101. Unfortunately, the pandemic has negatively affected our region’s completion rates, but events like this are critical to keeping resources and support front of mind.

STEM STORIES See All Stories
Earth-to-Space: It's the West Sound STEM Network
On December 12 1,000 students from the West Sound STEM Network spoke with NASA astronauts living, working and doing research aboard the International Space Station.
Inslee awards $6 million to create apprenticeship and career connections for 29,000 youth in 11 communities
STEM learning experiences, job shadows, career planning, internships, and apprenticeships become available thanks to new Career Connect Washington grant funding.
Kaiser Permanente: Supporting STEM, Educating Our Future Health Care Workforce
Susan Mullaney, President of Kaiser Permanente Washington, speaks on the importance of equality in STEM education and the positive impact it has on health care workforce development at the 2017 Washington STEM Summit at Microsoft.
STEM Like ME! introduces students to real STEM
Inspiring students to pursue careers in engineering starts in the classroom. STEM Like ME! empowers teachers to introduce STEM professionals into the classroom to educate students about what careers are available to them.
You can help Washington students get a great STEM education.
Support STEM