資本 STEM 聯盟

首都 STEM 聯盟成立於 2017 年,旨在組織有興趣在格雷斯港、劉易斯、梅森、太平洋和瑟斯頓縣組成的地區提高職業準備和 STEM 學習機會的學校、企業和社區組織。

資本 STEM 聯盟

首都 STEM 聯盟成立於 2017 年,旨在組織有興趣在格雷斯港、劉易斯、梅森、太平洋和瑟斯頓縣組成的地區提高職業準備和 STEM 學習機會的學校、企業和社區組織。
骨幹組織:
ESD 113 和 RALLY
洛里湯普森
資本 STEM 聯盟總監

概述

儘管整個地區都面臨經濟困境,但企業提供了許多我們的學生沒有資格從事的 STEM 工作,尤其是來自農村社區的青年、有色人種青年、殘疾青年以及受貧困影響的青年。 首都地區社區需要建立一支創新、高素質的勞動力隊伍,以發展當前的業務並吸引未來的業務。

Capital STEM 聯盟致力於建立一個健康、可持續、協作的區域基礎設施,以增加 STEM 學習機會,使該地區的所有兒童都能期待積極的職業生涯。

STEM 的數字

華盛頓 STEM 的年度 STEM by the Numbers 報告讓我們知道該系統是否正在支持更多的學生,尤其是有色人種學生、生活在貧困和/或農村背景的學生以及年輕女性,以便獲得高要求的證書。

通過數字報告查看太平洋山區區域 STEM 這裡.
有關此報告的引文和參考資料,請單擊 這裡.

計劃 + 影響

職業聯繫華盛頓

我們州的每個地區都是獨一無二的,STEM Networks 知道如何為所在地區的每個學生在 STEM 方面發揮最大影響。 2020 年,Capital STEM 聯盟獲得了 125,000 美元的贈款(包括強調農村和偏遠地區合作夥伴關係的資金),以支持與當地企業、非營利組織和學區的合作,為所有青年創造平等的職業發展機會。

我們一起帶來了職業意識計劃,例如普吉特灣河口巴德灣研討會的課堂機器人,通過水下 ROV 設計、建造和實驗進行海洋科學虛擬實習; 並在森特利亞學院認可柴油機械和商業領域的職業啟動計劃。 這些和其他合資企業支持我們地區的所有青年,從幼兒園到畢業,以確保獲得在 STEM 領域實現家庭工資職業所需的工具。

縮小從 K-12 到職業生涯的差距

我們網絡的第二屆年度勞動力峰會實際上於 2020 年 100 月舉行,以突出首都地區的一些途徑機會。 主題包括將 CTE 課程與行業和大學途徑相結合; 瀏覽 SBCTC 職業啟動認可流程; 發展青年虛擬實習計劃; 將註冊學徒製作為家庭工資就業的途徑。 來自工商界、政策、K12和大專教育、非營利組織和慈善機構的XNUMX多名參與者參加了本次峰會。

山到港激光聯盟

Mountain to Harbour LASER Alliance 是 Capital STEM 聯盟的一部分,倡導在小學階段加強科學和 STEM 教學,為所有學生準備中學成功和中學後 STEM 職業道路機會。 XNUMX 月,該網絡為小學管理人員和教師團隊創建了一系列研討會,以支持和鼓勵增加科學和 STEM 教學的課堂時間,此外還使用內容整合策略在科學、STEM 和其他課程領域之間建立重要聯繫。 隨著小學生獲得重要的 STEM 技能,中小學教育工作者可以為有色人種學生、低收入學生和對未來 STEM 職業充滿熱情的年輕女性戰略性地規劃更好的一致性,並減輕系統性不平等。 LASER(科學教育改革的領導和援助)是由華盛頓 STEM 與公共教育總監辦公室、教育服務區和系統生物學研究所的洛根教育中心共同領導的州科學教育計劃。

首都地區的早期學習

通過華盛頓 STEM 的早期數學創新資助,首都地區與 愛的數學 1800 年向大約 2020 名農村和偏遠地區的照顧者和幼兒分發 Tiny Polka Dots 數學遊戲。作為一項高潮活動,該地區於 2021 年 XNUMX 月舉辦了首次虛擬家庭數學之夜活動,參與學習數學概念的家庭、教育工作者和數學專家通過玩耍。 在接下來的一年裡,首都地區將繼續與幼兒的看護者聯繫,特別是在農村和偏遠社區,與我們的合作夥伴一起舉辦更多的早期數學活動:Paint to Learn、Block Fest Build-Off 和 Math Anywhere。

您可以幫助華盛頓學生獲得出色的 STEM 教育。
支持 STEM

Capital Region STEM Network

The Capital Region STEM Network was established in 2017 to organize school, business, and community organizations interested in enhancing career readiness and STEM learning opportunities in the region consisting of Grays Harbor, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, and Thurston counties.

Capital Region STEM Network

The Capital Region STEM Network was established in 2017 to organize school, business, and community organizations interested in enhancing career readiness and STEM learning opportunities in the region consisting of Grays Harbor, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, and Thurston counties.
Backbone Organization:
ESD 113 and RALLY
Lorie Thompson
Capital Region STEM Network Director

Overview

Despite the economic struggles throughout the region, businesses offer many STEM jobs for which our students are not qualified to pursue, especially our youth from rural communities, youth of color, youth with disabilities, and those impacted by poverty. The Capital regional community needs to build an innovative, well-qualified workforce to grow current businesses and attract businesses of the future.

The Capital Region STEM Network is committed to building a healthy, sustainable, collaborative regional infrastructure to enhance STEM learning opportunities so that all children in the region can look forward to a positive career.

STEM by the Numbers

Washington STEM’s annual STEM by the Numbers reports let us know if the system is supporting more students, especially students of color, students living in poverty and/or rural backgrounds, and young women, to be on track to attain high-demand credentials.

View the Pacific Mountain regional STEM by the Numbers report here.
For citations and references on this report, click here.

Programs + Impact

CAREER CONNECT WASHINGTON

Each area of our state is unique and STEM Networks know how to drive maximum impact in STEM for every student in their region. In 2020, the Capital Region Network received a $125,000 grant (including funds that emphasized rural and remote partnerships) to support collaborations with local businesses, nonprofits, and school districts that would create equitable access to career pathways opportunities for all youth.

Together, we have brought career awareness programs like the Classroom Robotics at Budd Bay workshops at the Puget Sound Estuarium, virtual internships in marine science through underwater ROV design, construction & experimentation; and endorsed career launch programs in diesel mechanics and business at Centralia College. These and other joint ventures support all youth in our region, from Kindergarten to graduation, to ensure access to the tools needed to attain a family-wage career in a STEM field.

BRIDGING THE GAP FROM K-12 TO CAREER

Our Network’s Second Annual Workforce Summit was held virtually in December 2020 to highlight some of the pathways opportunities in the Capital Region. Topics included Aligning CTE Coursework with Industry & College Pathways; Navigating the SBCTC Career Launch Endorsement Process; Growing Virtual Internship Programs for Youth; and Utilizing Registered Pre-Apprenticeships as Pathways to Family Wage Employment. Over 100 participants, including leaders from business and industry, policy, K12 and post-secondary education, non-profit, and philanthropy participated in this summit.

MOUNTAIN TO HARBOR LASER ALLIANCE

The Mountain to Harbor LASER Alliance, a part of the Capital STEM network, advocates for strong science and STEM instruction in the elementary grades, to prepare all students for secondary success and postsecondary STEM career pathways opportunities. In December the Network created a series of workshops for elementary administrator and teacher teams to support and encourage increased class time on science and STEM instruction, in addition to using content-integration strategies to make important connections between science, STEM and other curricular areas. As elementary students gain important STEM skills, elementary and secondary educators can strategically plan for better alignment, and mitigate systemic inequities for students of color, low income students, and young women who are passionate about future STEM careers. LASER (Leadership and Assistance for Science Education Reform) is a state science education program led by Washington STEM along with the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, Educational Service Districts, and the Logan Center for Education at the Institute for Systems Biology.

EARLY LEARNING IN THE CAPITAL REGION

Through an Early Math Innovations grant from Washington STEM, the Capital Region partnered with Math for Love to distribute Tiny Polka Dots math games to approximately 1800 rural and remote caregivers and young children in 2020. As a culminating activity, the Region held its first virtual Family Math Night event in January 2021 with families, educators and math experts engaged in learning math concepts through play. For the coming year, the Capital region continues its outreach to caregivers of young children, particularly in rural and remote communities, with additional early math events and activities with our partners: Paint to Learn, Block Fest Build-Off, and Math Anywhere.

You can help Washington students get a great STEM education.
Support STEM