تحالف كابيتال ستيم

تأسس تحالف Capital STEM في عام 2017 لتنظيم المؤسسات التعليمية والتجارية والمجتمعية المهتمة بتعزيز الاستعداد الوظيفي وفرص تعلم العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في المنطقة التي تتكون من مقاطعات Grays Harbour و Lewis و Mason و Pacific و Thurston.

تحالف كابيتال ستيم

تأسس تحالف Capital STEM في عام 2017 لتنظيم المؤسسات التعليمية والتجارية والمجتمعية المهتمة بتعزيز الاستعداد الوظيفي وفرص تعلم العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في المنطقة التي تتكون من مقاطعات Grays Harbour و Lewis و Mason و Pacific و Thurston.
منظمة العمود الفقري:
ESD 113 و RALLY
لوري طومسون
مدير تحالف كابيتال ستيم

ملخص

على الرغم من الصراعات الاقتصادية في جميع أنحاء المنطقة ، تقدم الشركات العديد من وظائف العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات التي لا يكون طلابنا مؤهلين لمتابعتها ، وخاصة شبابنا من المجتمعات الريفية والشباب الملونين والشباب ذوي الإعاقة والمتأثرين بالفقر. يحتاج المجتمع الإقليمي في العاصمة إلى بناء قوة عاملة مبتكرة ومؤهلة جيدًا لتنمية الأعمال التجارية الحالية وجذب أعمال المستقبل.

يلتزم تحالف Capital STEM ببناء بنية تحتية إقليمية صحية ومستدامة وتعاونية لتعزيز فرص تعلم العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات بحيث يمكن لجميع الأطفال في المنطقة أن يتطلعوا إلى حياة مهنية إيجابية.

STEM بالأرقام

تتيح لنا تقارير STEM by the Numbers السنوية من Washington STEM معرفة ما إذا كان النظام يدعم المزيد من الطلاب ، وخاصة الطلاب الملونين ، والطلاب الذين يعيشون في فقر و / أو خلفيات ريفية ، والشابات ، على المسار الصحيح للحصول على أوراق اعتماد عالية الطلب.

عرض تقرير STEM الإقليمي لجبال المحيط الهادئ من خلال تقرير الأرقام هنا.
للاستشهادات والمراجع في هذا التقرير ، انقر فوق هنا.

البرامج + التأثير

كارير كونيكت واشنطن

كل منطقة في ولايتنا فريدة وتعرف شبكات STEM كيفية تحقيق أقصى تأثير في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات لكل طالب في منطقتهم. في عام 2020 ، تلقى تحالف Capital STEM منحة قدرها 125,000 دولار (بما في ذلك الأموال التي ركزت على الشراكات الريفية والنائية) لدعم التعاون مع الشركات المحلية والمنظمات غير الربحية والمناطق التعليمية التي من شأنها أن تخلق وصولاً عادلاً إلى فرص المسارات الوظيفية لجميع الشباب.

لقد قمنا معًا بإحضار برامج التوعية المهنية مثل Classroom Robotics في ورش عمل Budd Bay في Puget Sound Estuarium ، والتدريب الداخلي الافتراضي في العلوم البحرية من خلال تصميم ROV تحت الماء والبناء والتجريب ؛ وأقرت برامج إطلاق المهنة في ميكانيكا الديزل والأعمال في كلية سنتراليا. تدعم هذه المشاريع المشتركة وغيرها جميع الشباب في منطقتنا ، بدءًا من رياض الأطفال وحتى التخرج ، لضمان الوصول إلى الأدوات اللازمة للحصول على وظيفة بأجر عائلي في مجال العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.

سد الفجوة من مرحلة رياض الأطفال وحتى التعليم الثانوي إلى مرحلة المهنة

عُقدت القمة السنوية الثانية للقوى العاملة لشبكتنا تقريبًا في ديسمبر 2020 لتسليط الضوء على بعض فرص المسارات في منطقة العاصمة. وشملت المواضيع محاذاة الدورات الدراسية CTE مع مسارات الصناعة والكلية. التنقل في عملية الموافقة على الإطلاق الوظيفي لـ SBCTC ؛ تزايد برامج التدريب الافتراضي للشباب ؛ والاستفادة من برامج ما قبل التلمذة المهنية المسجلة كمسارات للتوظيف بأجر للأسرة. شارك في هذه القمة أكثر من 100 مشارك ، بما في ذلك قادة من قطاع الأعمال والصناعة والسياسة و K12 والتعليم ما بعد الثانوي ، والمنظمات غير الربحية والعمل الخيري.

جبل إلى تحالف الليزر

يدافع تحالف Mountain to Harbour LASER ، وهو جزء من Capital STEM Alliance ، عن تعليم قوي في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات في الصفوف الابتدائية ، لإعداد جميع الطلاب للنجاح الثانوي وفرص مسارات STEM المهنية بعد المرحلة الثانوية. في كانون الأول (ديسمبر) ، أنشأت الشبكة سلسلة من ورش العمل لمديري المدارس الابتدائية وفرق المعلمين لدعم وتشجيع زيادة وقت الدراسة في العلوم وتعليم العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات ، بالإضافة إلى استخدام استراتيجيات تكامل المحتوى لإجراء اتصالات مهمة بين العلوم والرياضيات والهندسة والرياضيات (STEM) وغيرها من مجالات المناهج الدراسية. نظرًا لأن طلاب المرحلة الابتدائية يكتسبون مهارات STEM مهمة ، يمكن لمعلمي المدارس الابتدائية والثانوية التخطيط بشكل استراتيجي لمواءمة أفضل ، وتخفيف أوجه عدم المساواة المنهجية للطلاب الملونين ، والطلاب ذوي الدخل المنخفض ، والشابات الشغوفين بوظائف STEM المستقبلية. LASER (القيادة والمساعدة في إصلاح تعليم العلوم) هو برنامج تعليمي للولاية يقوده Washington STEM جنبًا إلى جنب مع مكتب المشرف على التعليم العام ومناطق الخدمات التعليمية ومركز لوجان للتعليم في معهد بيولوجيا الأنظمة.

التعلم المبكر في منطقة العاصمة

من خلال منحة ابتكارات الرياضيات المبكرة من Washington STEM ، دخلت منطقة العاصمة في شراكة مع الرياضيات من أجل الحب لتوزيع ألعاب الرياضيات Tiny Polka Dots على ما يقرب من 1800 من مقدمي الرعاية في المناطق الريفية والنائية والأطفال الصغار في عام 2020. كنشاط يتوج ، عقدت المنطقة أول حدث افتراضي في Family Math Night في يناير 2021 مع العائلات والمعلمين وخبراء الرياضيات المشاركين في تعلم مفاهيم الرياضيات من خلال اللعب. في العام المقبل ، تواصل منطقة العاصمة توعية مقدمي الرعاية للأطفال الصغار ، لا سيما في المجتمعات الريفية والنائية ، من خلال فعاليات وأنشطة رياضية مبكرة إضافية مع شركائنا: Paint to Learn و Block Fest Build-Off و Math Anywhere.

يمكنك مساعدة طلاب واشنطن في الحصول على تعليم رائع في العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات.
دعم STEM

Capital Region STEM Network

The Capital Region STEM Network was established in 2017 to organize school, business, and community organizations interested in enhancing career readiness and STEM learning opportunities in the region consisting of Grays Harbor, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, and Thurston counties.

Capital Region STEM Network

The Capital Region STEM Network was established in 2017 to organize school, business, and community organizations interested in enhancing career readiness and STEM learning opportunities in the region consisting of Grays Harbor, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, and Thurston counties.
Backbone Organization:
ESD 113 and RALLY
Lorie Thompson
Capital Region STEM Network Director

Overview

Despite the economic struggles throughout the region, businesses offer many STEM jobs for which our students are not qualified to pursue, especially our youth from rural communities, youth of color, youth with disabilities, and those impacted by poverty. The Capital regional community needs to build an innovative, well-qualified workforce to grow current businesses and attract businesses of the future.

The Capital Region STEM Network is committed to building a healthy, sustainable, collaborative regional infrastructure to enhance STEM learning opportunities so that all children in the region can look forward to a positive career.

STEM by the Numbers

Washington STEM’s annual STEM by the Numbers reports let us know if the system is supporting more students, especially students of color, students living in poverty and/or rural backgrounds, and young women, to be on track to attain high-demand credentials.

View the Pacific Mountain regional STEM by the Numbers report here.
For citations and references on this report, click here.

Programs + Impact

CAREER CONNECT WASHINGTON

Each area of our state is unique and STEM Networks know how to drive maximum impact in STEM for every student in their region. In 2020, the Capital Region Network received a $125,000 grant (including funds that emphasized rural and remote partnerships) to support collaborations with local businesses, nonprofits, and school districts that would create equitable access to career pathways opportunities for all youth.

Together, we have brought career awareness programs like the Classroom Robotics at Budd Bay workshops at the Puget Sound Estuarium, virtual internships in marine science through underwater ROV design, construction & experimentation; and endorsed career launch programs in diesel mechanics and business at Centralia College. These and other joint ventures support all youth in our region, from Kindergarten to graduation, to ensure access to the tools needed to attain a family-wage career in a STEM field.

BRIDGING THE GAP FROM K-12 TO CAREER

Our Network’s Second Annual Workforce Summit was held virtually in December 2020 to highlight some of the pathways opportunities in the Capital Region. Topics included Aligning CTE Coursework with Industry & College Pathways; Navigating the SBCTC Career Launch Endorsement Process; Growing Virtual Internship Programs for Youth; and Utilizing Registered Pre-Apprenticeships as Pathways to Family Wage Employment. Over 100 participants, including leaders from business and industry, policy, K12 and post-secondary education, non-profit, and philanthropy participated in this summit.

MOUNTAIN TO HARBOR LASER ALLIANCE

The Mountain to Harbor LASER Alliance, a part of the Capital STEM network, advocates for strong science and STEM instruction in the elementary grades, to prepare all students for secondary success and postsecondary STEM career pathways opportunities. In December the Network created a series of workshops for elementary administrator and teacher teams to support and encourage increased class time on science and STEM instruction, in addition to using content-integration strategies to make important connections between science, STEM and other curricular areas. As elementary students gain important STEM skills, elementary and secondary educators can strategically plan for better alignment, and mitigate systemic inequities for students of color, low income students, and young women who are passionate about future STEM careers. LASER (Leadership and Assistance for Science Education Reform) is a state science education program led by Washington STEM along with the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, Educational Service Districts, and the Logan Center for Education at the Institute for Systems Biology.

EARLY LEARNING IN THE CAPITAL REGION

Through an Early Math Innovations grant from Washington STEM, the Capital Region partnered with Math for Love to distribute Tiny Polka Dots math games to approximately 1800 rural and remote caregivers and young children in 2020. As a culminating activity, the Region held its first virtual Family Math Night event in January 2021 with families, educators and math experts engaged in learning math concepts through play. For the coming year, the Capital region continues its outreach to caregivers of young children, particularly in rural and remote communities, with additional early math events and activities with our partners: Paint to Learn, Block Fest Build-Off, and Math Anywhere.

You can help Washington students get a great STEM education.
Support STEM