華盛頓中南部 STEM 網絡

由 Mark Cheney 和 Hugo Moreno 共同指導的華盛頓中南部 STEM 網絡跨越了 Yakima 和 Kittitas 縣以及 Klickitat 和 Grant 縣的部分地區,以及位於 Yakama Nation Reservation 的幾個學區。

華盛頓中南部 STEM 網絡

由 Mark Cheney 和 Hugo Moreno 共同指導的華盛頓中南部 STEM 網絡跨越了 Yakima 和 Kittitas 縣以及 Klickitat 和 Grant 縣的部分地區,以及位於 Yakama Nation Reservation 的幾個學區。
骨幹組織:
防靜電 105
Mark-Cheney---中南-STEM-網絡
馬克切尼
華盛頓中南部 STEM 網絡聯合主任

概述

華盛頓中南部 STEM 網絡致力於:

  • 幫助開發我們地區當前教育產品和未來就業增長的驚人可能性
  • 通過向學生介紹 STEM 職業來幫助打破貧困循環——這一領域需要熟練的勞動力,並獲得高需求和高薪工作的回報
  • 通過培養年輕人的技能來保持我們的人才本地化,這將提高學業成就並支持華盛頓中南部社區未來所需的新的和不斷發展的業務

STEM 的數字

華盛頓 STEM 的年度 STEM by the Numbers 報告讓我們知道該系統是否正在支持更多的學生,尤其是有色人種學生、生活在貧困和/或農村背景的學生以及年輕女性,以便獲得高要求的證書。

按數字報告查看中南部地區 STEM 這裡.
有關此報告的引文和參考資料,請單擊 這裡.

計劃 + 影響

轉向虛擬職業探索

在 K-12 學生使用學習管理系統獲得虛擬學習機會期間,ESD 105 地區大多數農村地區的學生將有機會通過虛擬工作影子參與職業探索,該計劃由我們開發幹網絡。 使用虛擬平台,學生完成興趣驅動的清單,探索他們感興趣的職業,查看與專業人士的視頻採訪以了解職業,調查勞動力市場數據,探索薪資範圍,並找到提供所需證書的機構。 從 2021 年初開始,大約 1,600 名農村學生將可以使用高質量的職業探索平台。

擴大青年學徒

對於 17-29 歲的年輕人來說,有什麼比參與提供高中和/或大學學分的職業啟動機會、與他們選擇的職業道路直接相關的實踐學習以及從事在職工作更好的事情了在有愛心的成人導師的監督下進行培訓? 歡迎來到青年學徒的世界! 2019 年,華盛頓中南部 STEM 網絡地區的區域合作夥伴開始與航空航天聯合學徒委員會 (AJAC) 合作實施自動化技術員學徒計劃。 該計劃的學徒學習工業維護職業所需的所有技能。 從小到大,3 年秋季只有 2019 個學徒,在短短一年多的時間裡發展到 30 多個學徒! 為響應華盛頓中南部商界的要求,並在自動化技術員學徒計劃取得成功的基礎上,AJAC 與其他區域利益相關者合作,將開始實施新批准的機器操作員學徒計劃,以滿足食品加工業。 Del Monte、Ostrom Mushroom Farms、Washington Beef 和華盛頓州果樹協會等當地公司在開發過程中發揮了重要作用。

獲得早期數學創新

中南部 STEM 網絡通過對以下兩個領域的投資建立了區域能力,以支持來自低收入家庭、有色人種家庭和農村地區的兒童進行早期數學準備:教學教練、教師和助教的專業發展; 和家庭參與。 早期數學創新項目實施了一個工作室週期戰略,以培訓和支持 ESD 105 和 ESD 171 地區的啟蒙和移民啟蒙教室的教練和教師。 數學教練和教師經過一年的努力接受培訓,以培養對數學概念的理解、社區參與和建立數學信心。 在 COVID-19 大流行之前,我們能夠在 Blossoms 早期學習中心的試點站點舉辦 3 場面對面的家庭之夜。 每晚約有 50 名家庭成員參加,總共服務了 150 個家庭。

促進財政援助的完成

公平獲得高等教育證書的迫切需要,特別是對於距離機會最遠的人群,高度依賴於 FAFSA/WASFA 的完成。 然而,來自貧困的學生、有色人種學生以及來自偏遠和農村地區的學生的 FAFSA 完成率要低得多。 這是不公平的一個明顯例子,我們是全州努力縮小這一差距的一部分。 中南部 STEM 網絡與大學成功基金會 (CSF)、WA Gear Up、華盛頓學生成就委員會和當地大學合作,在 8 月和 XNUMX 月共同舉辦了 XNUMX 場區域經濟援助宣傳活動。 這些活動以英語和西班牙語提供,並在多個可訪問的時間段舉行,以滿足該地區的需求。

幹故事 查看所有故事
地對空:這是 West Sound STEM 網絡
12 月 1,000 日,來自 West Sound STEM 網絡的 XNUMX 名學生與在國際空間站上生活、工作和研究的 NASA 宇航員進行了交談。
Inslee 獎勵 6 萬美元,為 29,000 個社區的 11 名青年建立學徒和職業聯繫
得益於新的 Career Connect Washington 贈款資金,STEM 學習經驗、工作影子、職業規劃、實習和學徒制變得可用。
Kaiser Permanente:支持 STEM,教育我們未來的醫療保健人員
Kaiser Permanente Washington 總裁 Susan Mullaney 在 Microsoft 舉行的 2017 年華盛頓 STEM 峰會上談到平等在 STEM 教育中的重要性及其對醫療保健勞動力發展的積極影響。
像我一樣幹! 向學生介紹真正的 STEM
激發學生從事工程職業的工作從課堂開始。 像我一樣幹! 使教師能夠將 STEM 專業人士引入課堂,以教育學生了解他們可以從事哪些職業。
您可以幫助華盛頓學生獲得出色的 STEM 教育。
支持 STEM

South Central Washington STEM Network

The South Central Washington STEM Network spans Yakima and Kittitas counties and parts of Klickitat and Grant counties, as well as several school districts located on the Yakama Nation Reservation.

South Central Washington STEM Network

The South Central Washington STEM Network spans Yakima and Kittitas counties and parts of Klickitat and Grant counties, as well as several school districts located on the Yakama Nation Reservation.
Backbone Organization:
ESD 105
Mark-Cheney---South-Central-STEM-Network
Mark Cheney
South Central Washington STEM Network Director

Overview

The South Central Washington STEM Network works to:

  • Help develop the amazing possibilities for our area’s current educational offerings and future employment growth
  • Help break the cycle of poverty by introducing students to STEM careers – a field calling for a skilled workforce with the rewards of jobs that are high demand and pay good wages
  • Keep our talent local by building the skills in our young people that will raise academic achievement and support the new and growing businesses that will be needed in the future of South Central Washington’s communities

STEM by the Numbers

Washington STEM’s annual STEM by the Numbers reports let us know if the system is supporting more students, especially students of color, students living in poverty and/or rural backgrounds, and young women, to be on track to attain high-demand credentials.

View the South Central regional STEM by the Numbers report here.
For citations and references on this report, click here.

Programs + Impact

PIVOT TO VIRTUAL CAREER EXPLORATION

During a time when K-12 students are utilizing a Learning Management System to access virtual learning opportunities, students in the most rural districts in the ESD 105 region will have the opportunity to participate in Career Exploration through Virtual Job Shadow, a program developed by our STEM network. Using a virtual platform, students complete an interest driven inventory, explore careers they are curious about, check video interviews with professionals to learn about the career, investigate labor market data, explore salary range, and locate institutions where required credentials are offered. Beginning in early 2021, approximately 1,600 rural students will have access to the high-quality Career Exploration platform.

EXPANDING YOUTH APPRENTICESHIPS

What could be better for a 17-29 year old youth than to engage in a Career Launch opportunity that provides high school and or college credit, hands-on learning directly related to their chosen career path, and to engage in on-the-job training under the supervision of a caring adult mentor? Welcome to the world of youth apprenticeship! In 2019, regional partners in the South Central Washington STEM Network region began working with the Aerospace Joint Apprenticeship Committee (AJAC) to implement the Automation Technician apprenticeship program. Apprentices in this program learn all the skills necessary for a career in Industrial Maintenance. What started small, with only 3 apprentices in the fall of 2019 has grown to over 30 apprentices in just over one year! Responding to the request of the business community in South Central Washington, and building on the success of the Automation Technician apprenticeship, AJAC in partnership with other regional stakeholders, will begin the implementation of the newly approved Machine Operator apprenticeship designed to meet the needs of the Food Processing industry. Local companies like Del Monte, Ostrom Mushroom Farms, Washington Beef, and the Washington State Tree Fruit Association have been instrumental in the development process.

ACCESS TO EARLY MATH INNOVATIONS

The South Central STEM Network has built regional capacity to support children from low income families, families of color, and rural areas in their early math preparation through investments in two areas: professional development for instructional coaches, teachers, and teacher aids; and family engagement. The Early Math Innovations Project implemented a Studio Cycle strategy to train and support the coaches and teachers in Head Start and Migrant Head Start classrooms in the ESD 105 and ESD 171 regions. Math coaches and teachers are trained through a year-long effort to develop understanding of math concepts, community engagement, and building math confidence. Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, we were able to host 3 in-person Family Nights from our pilot site at the Blossoms Early Learning Center. Approximately 50 family members attended each of the nights for a total of 150 families served.

CATALYZING FINANCIAL AID COMPLETION

The immediate need for equitable access to earning a postsecondary credential, especially for populations furthest from opportunity, is highly dependent upon FAFSA/WASFA completion. Yet, students from poverty, students of color, and students from remote and rural areas have significantly lower FAFSA completion rates. This is a glaring example of inequity and we are part of a statewide effort to close this gap. The South Central STEM Network partnered with the College Success Foundation (CSF), WA Gear Up, Washington Student Achievement Council and local colleges to co-host 8 regional financial aid awareness events in November and December. The events were provided in English and Spanish, and held at multiple accessible time slots to meet the needs of the region.

STEM STORIES See All Stories
Earth-to-Space: It's the West Sound STEM Network
On December 12 1,000 students from the West Sound STEM Network spoke with NASA astronauts living, working and doing research aboard the International Space Station.
Inslee awards $6 million to create apprenticeship and career connections for 29,000 youth in 11 communities
STEM learning experiences, job shadows, career planning, internships, and apprenticeships become available thanks to new Career Connect Washington grant funding.
Kaiser Permanente: Supporting STEM, Educating Our Future Health Care Workforce
Susan Mullaney, President of Kaiser Permanente Washington, speaks on the importance of equality in STEM education and the positive impact it has on health care workforce development at the 2017 Washington STEM Summit at Microsoft.
STEM Like ME! introduces students to real STEM
Inspiring students to pursue careers in engineering starts in the classroom. STEM Like ME! empowers teachers to introduce STEM professionals into the classroom to educate students about what careers are available to them.
You can help Washington students get a great STEM education.
Support STEM