數學思維從出生就開始了。

我們希望確保所有孩子都能培養 STEM 信心和積極的數學認同。

數學思維從出生就開始了。

我們希望確保所有孩子都能培養 STEM 信心和積極的數學認同。
Soleil Boyd,博士,高級項目官員

活動簡介

90% 的大腦發育發生在幼兒園之前,獲得高質量的早期學習是我們可以為幼兒做出的最佳投資之一。從增加入學準備到持續的學業、社會和情感成果,研究清楚地表明,孩子在開始時獲得的學習和支持將對他們上學和以後的生活產生巨大影響。

早期學習發生在家庭、社區以及許多兒童的早期護理和教育環境中。 然而,目前只有 51% 的兒童能夠獲得他們需要的早期護理。 我們對華盛頓早期學習系統的關注集中在如何確保幼兒能夠公平地獲得高質量的早期護理和 STEM 體驗,這將幫助他們在生活中茁壯成長。

早期數學學習尤其重要,因為它可以預測以後的學習成果。 孩子們開始在數學上很強,在數學上保持很強,在讀寫能力上也超過了同齡人。 目標是確保我們州的每個孩子都能始終如一地獲得快樂和引人入勝的 STEM 學習機會。

我們正在做什麼

投資有前途的 STEM 實踐

  • 招募兒童保育冠軍: 我們正在召集全州的行業領袖,倡導我們的兒童保育系統的全面解決方案。 了解如何參與其中。
  • STEM 網絡: 我們與全州的十個 STEM 網絡合作,以確定以社區優先事項為中心的本地解決方案。 早期的 STEM 編程和系統級工作是與社區合作量身定制的,以確保兒童、家庭和教育工作者能夠獲得鼓舞人心的 STEM 學習機會和資源。
  • 故事時間 STEAM 在行動 / en Acción 是一個社區項目,重點是通過故事時間編程和使用共享閱讀經驗來支持兒童和家庭早期數學技能的發展。

利用數據並參與宣傳

  • 新的 STEM by the Numbers 儀表板 跟踪早期學習、K-12 和職業道路的關鍵指標和系統輸入。 儀表板顯示全州和地區級別的數學熟練程度、FAFSA 完成率和高等教育進度,包括證書註冊和完成情況。
  • 兒童狀態儀表板 提供 2022 年全州所有地區的人口統計、語言、護理成本和工資差異的數據。 該儀表板補充了區域和全州範圍的敘述性報告。
  • 全州和地區兒童狀況報告: 我們與 Washington Communities for Children 合作,逐個地區深入了解我們的早期學習和兒童保育系統的狀況。 這些報告重點介紹了兒童保育對家庭和雇主的經濟影響、關鍵早期兒童教育的可用性和獲取等方面的數據和信息。
  • 兒童保育業務可行性估算器 (“估算器”)是一個在線計算器,旨在幫助潛在的兒童保育企業主了解其兒童保育業務想法的可能成本、收入和可行性。
  • 家庭友好工作場所區域報告: 每年,缺乏托兒服務都會讓華盛頓的企業付出代價 2 億美元的收入損失。 “ 家庭友好工作場所區域報告 提供數據和建議,以幫助雇主降低曠工率並使他們的工作場所適合家庭。
  • 倡導: 我們與早期學習政策和倡導合作夥伴(包括早期學習行動聯盟 (ELAA) 等)合作,推進優先事項,重點是可獲得和負擔得起的早期護理和教育、高質量的早期學習和系統調整。
  • 交互數據: 我們與兒童、青年和家庭部 (DCYF) 合作,創建了 兒童保育需求和供應數據儀表板. 該工具反映了華盛頓兒童保育能力和需求的現狀,滿足了對當地社區兒童保育和學前教育需求的定期、最新數據的需求。
幹故事 查看所有故事
整合社區聲音:兒童狀況共同設計博客:第二部分
在《兒童狀況》協同設計過程博客的第二部分中,我們探討了協同設計過程的細節,以及它如何影響報告和參與者本身。
收支平衡:經營兒童保育業務的成本
華盛頓州的大多數父母都知道,即​​使您有資源,尋找托兒服務也很困難,而且費用也不是一個因素。 這個新工具可以幫助潛在的所有者估算經營兒童保育業務的真實成本。
協同設計過程:與社區一起進行研究並為社區服務
新的兒童狀況報告是與來自全州的 50 多名“共同設計師”合作開發的。 結果突出了有意義的政策變化的領域,同時也納入了在關於負擔得起的兒童保育的對話中經常被忽視的有孩子的家庭的聲音。

Math thinking starts at birth.

We want to make sure all kids develop STEM confidence and positive math identity.

Math thinking starts at birth.

We want to make sure all kids develop STEM confidence and positive math identity.
Soleil Boyd, PhD, Senior Program Officer

Overview

90% of brain development occurs before kindergarten, and access to high-quality early learning is one of the best investments we can make for young children.From increased school readiness to ongoing academic and social and emotional outcomes, the research is clear that the learning and support a child receives during their beginning years will have dramatic impacts when they go to school and later in life.

Early learning happens in the home, community, and for many children, in early care and education settings. Right now, however, only 51% of children have access to the early care they need. Our focus on early learning systems in Washington is centered on how to ensure young children have equitable access to high-quality early care and STEM experiences that will help them thrive in life.

Early mathematics learning is especially important because it is predictive of later learning outcomes. Children who start strong in math, stay strong in math, and outperform their peers in literacy too. The goal is to ensure that every child in our state has consistent access to opportunities for joyful and engaging STEM learning.

What We’re Doing

Investing in Promising STEM Practices

  • Recruiting Child Care Champions: We are convening industry leaders from across the state to advocate for comprehensive solutions in our child care system. Learn how you can get involved.
  • STEM Networks: We partner with ten STEM Networks across the state to identify local solutions that center community priorities. Early STEM programming and systems-level work is tailored in partnership with communities to ensure children, families, and educators have access to inspiring STEM learning opportunities and resources.
  • Story Time STEAM in Action / en Acción is a community project that focuses on supporting equity in early mathematics for children and families through story time programming and the use of shared reading experiences to support the development of early math skills.

Leveraging Data and Engaging in Advocacy

  • The new STEM by the Numbers dashboards track key indicators and systems inputs for early learning, K-12 and career pathways. The dashboards display, at the statewide and regional levels: Math Proficiency, FAFSA Completion rates, and Postsecondary Progress, including credential enrollment and completion.
  • State of the Children dashboard presents 2022 data on demographics, language, cost of care, and wage disparities from all regions across the state. This dashboard complements the regional and state-wide narrative reports.
  • State of the Children statewide and regional reports: In partnership with Washington Communities for Children, we’ve created a region-by-region, in-depth look at the state of our early learning and child care systems. The reports highlight data and information on the economic impact of child care on families and employers, the availability of and access to critical early childhood education, and more.
  • Child Care Business Feasibility Estimator (“Estimator”) is an online calculator designed to help potential child care business owners understand the likely costs, revenues, and feasibility for their child care business idea.
  • Family Friendly Workplace regional reports: Each year, the lack of child care costs Washington businesses over $2 billion dollars in lost revenue. The Family Friendly Workplace regional reports provide data and recommendations to help employers lower absenteeism and make their workplace family-friendly.
  • Advocacy: We work in coordination with early learning policy and advocacy partners, including the Early Learning Action Alliance (ELAA) and others, to advance priorities focused on accessible and affordable early care and education, high-quality early learning, and systems alignment.
  • Interactive data: In partnership with the Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF), we created the Child Care Need and Supply Data dashboard. This tool reflects the current state of Washington’s child care capacity and demand and meets the need for regular, up-to-date data on child care and preschool needs in local communities.
STEM STORIES See All Stories
“Why STEM?”: The Case for a Strong Science and Math Education
By 2030, less than half of the new, entry-level jobs in Washington state will pay a family-wage. Of these family-wage jobs, 96% will require a postsecondary credential and 62% will require STEM literacy. Despite the upward trend in STEM jobs, science and math education is under-resourced and de-prioritized in Washington state.
The Co-Design Process: Research With, and For, Communities
The new State of the Children reports were developed in partnership with 50+ “co-designers” from across the state. The results highlight areas for meaningful policy changes while also incorporating voices of families with children often overlooked in the conversation about affordable child care.
"Why STEM?": Maria's Journey Through STEM Education
In this second installment of our "Why STEM?" blog series, follow "Maria" on her journey from preschool to postsecondary.