中央普吉特海湾 STEM 合作伙伴

中央普吉特海湾 STEM 合作伙伴

萨宾托马斯,ND
华盛顿 STEM

详情

在金县,华盛顿 STEM 将教育工作者、商业领袖、STEM 专业人士、慈善家和社区领袖聚集在一起,支持从小就开始学习 STEM 并开辟职业道路。 我们在该地区的工作由专注于职业道路和早期学习的关键合作伙伴和工作领域定义。

STEM 的数字

华盛顿 STEM 的年度 STEM by the Numbers 报告让我们知道该系统是否正在支持更多的学生,尤其是有色人种学生、生活在贫困和/或农村背景的学生以及年轻女性,以便获得高要求的证书。

查看 King County 地区 STEM by the Numbers 报告 此处.
有关此报告的引文和参考资料,请单击 此处.

计划 + 影响

儿童报告和宣传状况

我们与华盛顿儿童社区和商务部合作,制作区域儿童状况报告,定义区域层面与早期护理和教育相关的经济、劳动力和供需问题。 例如,在金县,我们知道估计有 71% 的 6 岁以下儿童无法获得优质的有执照的托儿服务,而一个普通的四口之家在有 33 个托儿服务时支付高达其收入的 2%。 我们的报告通过数据和令人信服的现实生活示例,将早期护理和教育作为我们基础设施中关键但资源不足的部分,成为关注焦点。 我们正在与商业、教育和政策领导人合作,以确保所有家庭都能获得负担得起的高质量早期护理和学习。

扩大访问范围:CAREER CONNECT 技术学院

2020 年,在华盛顿职业连接的支持下,华盛顿 STEM 与西班牙裔事务委员会 (CHA) 合作开发了三个职业连接技术学院模型,该模型改编自国家早期大学高中 (PTECH) 技术路径计划。 金县项目位于华盛顿湖理工学院 + 高中联合校区。 华盛顿湖 职业连接技术学院,计划于 2021 年 XNUMX 月开始,将专注于计算机软件设计和计算机安全与网络技术学位。 从学院毕业的学生将获得学位并拥有工作经验,为他们从事家庭有薪工作做好准备。 华盛顿 STEM 为 CHA 提供了重要的技术支持,并帮助在另外两个地区开发了项目:Pasco 和 Everett。 此外,我们开发了一个 职业连接技术手册 详细说明了如何开发和实施职业连接技术学院,以便将这些试点计划扩展到全州的地区。

早期学习:故事时间干

Story Time STEM 项目与图书馆系统领导者和儿童图书馆员合作,通过讲故事来改善和增加儿童和家庭的早期数学学习机会。 我们与金县图书馆系统合作,并迅速转向虚拟故事时间格式,以在线与家庭和社区一起开发强大的 STEM 学习机会。 通过这些活动,金县图书馆让 3,296 名参与者获得了快乐和引人入胜的早期数学学习。

召集教育工作者:华盛顿 STEM 峰会

我们的 2020 年华盛顿 STEM 峰会是虚拟的。 超过 300 名与会者参加了为期两天的活动,探讨了商业、教育和非营利部门如何合作,以确保所有华盛顿学生具备参与我们的创新驱动型经济和获得家庭维持所需的 STEM 技能工资职业。 今年,我们专注于转向虚拟学习、在危机中适应以及对我们的托儿系统及其最早的学习者的影响。

对金县科学教育领导者的支持

LASER(科学教育改革的领导和援助)是由华盛顿 STEM 与公共教育总监办公室、教育服务区和系统生物学研究所共同领导的州科学教育计划。 2020 年春季,North Sound 和 South Sound LASER Alliances 在普吉特湾教育服务区和华盛顿 STEM 的支持下,为 13 个学区举办了一系列研讨会,以了解如何评估、选择和使用符合 Next 的高质量教学材料一代科学标准。 最初计划在 XNUMX 月举行为期两天的面对面研讨会,联盟领导人很快适应了在线访问和地区领导人的复杂工作量。

干故事 查看所有故事
地对空:这是 West Sound STEM 网络
12 月 1,000 日,来自 West Sound STEM 网络的 XNUMX 名学生与在国际空间站上生活、工作和研究的 NASA 宇航员进行了交谈。
Inslee 奖励 6 万美元,为 29,000 个社区的 11 名青年建立学徒和职业联系
得益于新的 Career Connect Washington 赠款资金,STEM 学习经验、工作影子、职业规划、实习和学徒制变得可用。
Kaiser Permanente:支持 STEM,教育我们未来的医疗保健人员
Kaiser Permanente Washington 总裁 Susan Mullaney 在 Microsoft 举行的 2017 年华盛顿 STEM 峰会上谈到平等在 STEM 教育中的重要性及其对医疗保健劳动力发展的积极影响。
像我一样干! 向学生介绍真正的 STEM
激发学生从事工程职业的工作从课堂开始。 像我一样干! 使教师能够将 STEM 专业人士引入课堂,以教育学生了解他们可以从事哪些职业。
支持 STEM
支持 STEM

King County STEM Partners

King County STEM Partners

Gilda Wheeler
Washington STEM

Overview

In King County, Washington STEM brings educators, business leaders, STEM professionals, philanthropists, and community leaders together to support STEM learning from an early age and to open career pathways. Our work in this region is defined by a key group of partners and work areas that focus on Career Pathways and Early Learning.

STEM by the Numbers

Washington STEM’s annual STEM by the Numbers reports let us know if the system is supporting more students, especially students of color, students living in poverty and/or rural backgrounds, and young women, to be on track to attain high-demand credentials.

View the King County regional STEM by the Numbers report here.
For citations and references on this report, click here.

PROGRAMS + IMPACT

STATE OF THE CHILDREN REPORTS & ADVOCACY

In partnership with the Washington Communities for Children and the Department of Commerce, we are producing regional State of the Children reports that define the economic, workforce, and supply and demand issues related to early care and education at a regional level. For example, in King County we know an estimated 71% of children under age 6 lack access to quality, licensed childcare, and that an average family of four pay up to 33% of their income when they have 2 children in childcare. Our reports, through data and compelling real-life examples, are putting a spotlight on early care and education as a critical but under resourced part of our infrastructure. We are working with business, education, and policy leaders to ensure all families have access to affordable and high quality early care and learning.

EXPANDING ACCESS: CAREER CONNECT TECH ACADEMY

In 2020, with support from Career Connect Washington, Washington STEM partnered with the Commission on Hispanic Affairs (CHA) to develop three Career Connect Tech Academy models adapted from a national Pathways In Technology Early College High School (PTECH) program. The King County program is at the combined Lake Washington Institute of Technology + High School campus. The Lake Washington Career Connect Tech Academy, slated to begin in Sept 2021, will focus on degrees in Computer Software Design and Computer Security and Network Technology. Students graduating from the academy will earn a degree and have work experience that prepares them for family wage jobs. Washington STEM provided crucial technical support to CHA and helped develop the programs in two additional regions: Pasco and Everett. Additionally, we developed a Career Connect Tech Playbook that details how to develop and implement a Career Connect Tech academy so these pilot programs can be expanded to regions across the state.

EARLY LEARNING: STORY TIME STEM

The Story Time STEM project works with library system leaders and children’s librarians to improve and increase early math learning opportunities for children and families through storytelling. We partnered with the King County Library System and quickly pivoted to a virtual story time format to develop powerful STEM learning opportunities with families and communities online. Through these events, the King County Libraries reached 3,296 participants with joyful and engaging early mathematics learning.

CONVENING EDUCATORS: WASHINGTON STEM SUMMIT

Our 2020 Washington STEM Summit went virtual. Over 300 attendees participated in the two-day event, exploring the ways in which business, education, and the nonprofit sector can work together to ensure all Washington students have the STEM skills needed to participate in our innovation-driven economy and access family-sustaining wage careers. This year we focused on the pivot to virtual learning, adapting in a crisis, and the impact to our childcare system and its earliest learners.

SUPPORTS FOR KING COUNTY SCIENCE EDUCATION LEADERS

LASER (Leadership and Assistance for Science Education Reform) is a state science education program led by Washington STEM along with the Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, Educational Service Districts, and the Institute for Systems Biology. In Spring 2020, the North Sound and South Sound LASER Alliances, with support from Puget Sound Educational Service District and Washington STEM, hosted a workshop series for 13 school districts to learn about evaluating, selecting, and using high quality instructional materials aligned to the Next Generation Science Standards. Originally planned to be an in-person workshop over two days in March, the Alliance leaders quickly adapted to accommodate online access and district leaders’ complex workloads.

STEM STORIES See All Stories
Earth-to-Space: It's the West Sound STEM Network
On December 12 1,000 students from the West Sound STEM Network spoke with NASA astronauts living, working and doing research aboard the International Space Station.
Inslee awards $6 million to create apprenticeship and career connections for 29,000 youth in 11 communities
STEM learning experiences, job shadows, career planning, internships, and apprenticeships become available thanks to new Career Connect Washington grant funding.
Kaiser Permanente: Supporting STEM, Educating Our Future Health Care Workforce
Susan Mullaney, President of Kaiser Permanente Washington, speaks on the importance of equality in STEM education and the positive impact it has on health care workforce development at the 2017 Washington STEM Summit at Microsoft.
STEM Like ME! introduces students to real STEM
Inspiring students to pursue careers in engineering starts in the classroom. STEM Like ME! empowers teachers to introduce STEM professionals into the classroom to educate students about what careers are available to them.
Support STEM
Support STEM